Event Calendar Join Us for Opportunities


Sixteen Catchers Named Semifinalists to Prestigious Buster Posey Award

Posted on May 22, 2024





Wichita, KS – The Wichita Sports Commission announced today the semifinalists for the Buster Posey National Collegiate Catcher of the Year Award. A selection committee made up of Division I Baseball Coaches, Sports Information Directors and Major League Scouts selected the sixteen catchers from 69 nominations submitted by Division I college schools.


The finalists for the Buster Posey Award will be announced June 6. Those three catchers will be invited to Wichita, KS with the winner being announced June 26th during the Greater Wichita Sports Banquet and Buster Posey Award presentation. The National Collegiate Catcher of Year Award was established in 2000.

Buster Posey Award Semifinalists
Ethan Anderson, Junior, University of Virginia
Ariel Armas, Junior, San Diego University
Burke Camper, Senior, Utah Valley University
Ryan Campos, Junior, Arizona State University
Josh Caron, Junior, University of Nebraska
Connor Caskenette, Senior, Purdue University
Jacob Cozart, Junior, North Carolina State
Mac Guscette, Senior, University of Alabama
Brandon Heidal, Senior, Oakland University
Ike Irish, Sophomore, Auburn University
Walker Janek, Junior, Sam Houston State
Caleb Lomavita, Junior, California-Berkeley
Cole Messina, Junior, University of South Carolina
Malcolm Moore, Sophomore, Stanford University
Ryan Stafford, Junior, Cal Poly
Alex Stone, Senior, Duke University

More information and player stats can be seen at https://wichitasports.com/buster-posey-award/

The Greater Wichita Sports Banquet will be held at Intrust Bank Arena in downtown Wichita. Tickets will go on sale to the public June 10. For updates on the events and tickets, visit wichitasports.com

About the Wichita Sports Commission
The Wichita Sports Commission is a facilitator, driving the collaborative efforts of the region in attracting and hosting a wide variety of local, regional, and national sporting events at the youth, amateur, and professional level. Since 1997, the Wichita Sports Commission has facilitated nearly 700 events in the Wichita area with a combined economic impact of over $600 million. The Sports Commission also owns and operates six community annual events, including the: Prairie Fire Race Series, NBC Baseball Foundation and World Series, Greater Wichita Sports Banquet featuring the Buster Posey National Collegiate Catcher of the Year Award, Wichita Corporate Challenge and the annual Wichita Turkey Trot. The Sports Commission provides the experience and expertise in sports marketing and event management that has established our region.

Share This