Event Calendar Join Us for Opportunities

Buster Posey Award

The most demanding and dangerous position on a baseball field is the one designated as “number 2” on a scorecard – the catcher. The role of catcher has evolved into a strategic part of the baseball game. Therefore, it is only fitting that the baseball community nationally recognizes the top collegiate catcher.

Previously known as the Johnny Bench Award, the Buster Posey National Collegiate Catcher of the Year Award honors the nation’s top division one collegiate catcher as voted on by head coaches and sports information directors.

Buster Posey National Collegiate Catcher of the Year Finalists

Zach Morgan (Fresno State), Kevin Parada (Georgia Tech), Buster Posey and Michael Carico (Davidson)


2022 Buster Posey National Collegiate Catcher of the Year Award

Sixteen catchers have been named semifinalists for the 2022 Buster Posey National Collegiate Catcher of the Year Award.. They are (in alphabetical order):

Jack Alexander, SR Austin Peay
Michael Carico , SO Davidson
Connor Charping, SR Western Michigan
Kaden Hollow, SO Dixie State
Cade Hunter, SO Virginia Tech
Andrew Keck, JR Southeast Missouri State
JT Marr, JR College of Charleston
Zach Morgan, JR Fresno State
Kevin Parada, SO Georgia Tech
Caleb Ricketts, JR San Diego
BT Riopelle , JR  Florida
Daniel Susac, SO  Arizona
Logan Tanner, SO  Mississippi State
Brendan Tinsman, JR  Wake Forest
Anthony Tulimero, SO Houston
Michael Turner, SR Arkansas

Statistics on each catcher named to the watch list were pulled on May 9, 2022. Key criterion in determining the semifinalists is that they must be the starting catcher for their team in 70% of the games, their batting average must be above .200 and have a minimum of 120 at bats. There were several nominees that did not meet the criteria to move forward in the selection process.

Ballots will be sent to the national voting committee at the end of May for a vote to determine the three finalists. The finalists will be announced June 7, 2022. A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and the winner will be announced on June 29, 2022.


Posey began his collegiate career as a shortstop, before moving to the catcher's position his sophomore year.

Who is Buster Posey?

Posey began his collegiate career as a shortstop, before moving to the catcher’s position his sophomore year. His junior season honors include: Johnny Bench Award, the Dick Howser Trophy, the Golden Spikes Award, and the 5th overall draft pick by the Giants.

During his major league career, Posey’s honors include: 3 world series titles,7 All-Star Game selections, 5 Silver Slugger Awards, 2010 National League Rookie of the Year, 2012 National League MVP, and 2016 Gold Glove Award winner.   ©2019 S.F. Giants

.460 66-65 248 88 114 20 4 26 92 220 .887
55 8 27 .564 5-8 416 50 8 .983 34-58 41.3 2 0


2022 Kevin Parada, Georgia Tech (Michael Carico, Davidson; Zach Morgan, Fresno State)
2021 Matheu Nelson, Florida State
 (Henry Davis, Louisville, Andy Thomas, Baylor)
2020 Did not award due to COVID-19 and cancellation of baseball season.
2019 Adley Rutschman, Oregon State (Kyle McCann, Georgia Tech; Eric Yang, UC Santa Barbara
2018 Joey Bart, Georgia Tech (Alex Holderbach, Eastern Kentucky; Rey Pastrana, Marrshall)
2017 Matt Whatley, Oral Roberts (David Banuelos, Long Beach State; Brent Diaz, Louisiana Tech)
2016 Zack Collins, Miami (Logan Ice, Oregon State; Keith Skinner, North Florida)
2015 Garrett Stubbs, Southern California (Kade Scivicque, LSU; Matt Winn, VMI)
2014 Max Pentecost, Kennesaw State (Will Allen, Ole Miss; Kyle Schwarber, Indiana)
2013 Stuart Turner, Ole Miss (Mitchell Garver, New Mexico; Zane Evans, Georgia Tech)
2012 Mike Zunino, Florida (Kevin Plawecki, Purdue; Mitchell Garver, New Mexico)
2011 Jake Lowery, James Madison (Chris O’Brien, Wichita State; Mike Zunino, Florida)
2010 Bryan Holaday, TCU (Yasmani Grandal, Miami; Jose Iglesias, Coastal Carolina)
2009 JT Wise, Oklahoma (Chris Henderson, George Mason; Tony Sanchez, Boston College)
2008 Buster Posey, Florida St. (Jason Castro, Stanford; Dock Doyle, Coastal Carolina)
2007 Edward Easley, Mississippi St (Matt Wieters, Georgia Tech; Buster Posey, Florida St.)
2006 Jake Smith, East Carolina (Jeff Kunkel, Michigan; Eddy Rodriguez, Miami)
2005 Jeff Clement, Southern California (Nick Hundley, Arizona; Taylor Teagarden, Texas)
2004 Kurt Suzuki, CS Fullerton (Landon Powell, South Carolina; Chris Iannetta, North Carolina)
2003 Ryan Garko, Stanford (Tony Richie, Florida St.; Colt Morton, NC State)
2002 Jeremy Brown, Alabama (Chris Snyder, Houston; Alberto Concepcion, Southern California)
2001 Kelly Shoppach, Baylor (Casey Myers, Arizona State; Jeremy Brown, Alabama)
2000 Brad Cresse, LSU (Justin Cowan, Nebraska; Casey Myers, Arizona State)

Share This