25 May 2017


2017 Johnny Bench Award presented by BaseballSavings.com

















The Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission announced the fifteen semifinalists for the 2017 Johnny Bench Award presented by BaseballSavings.com. They are (in alphabetical order):
   Riley Adams, University of San Diego  JR
   David Banuelos, Long Beach State University JR
   Joey Bart, Georgia Tech   SO
   Ben Breazeale, Wake Forest University  SR
   Brent Diaz, Louisiana Tech University JR
   Troy Dixon, St. John's University  SR
   Grant Koch, University of Arkansas    SO
   Renae Martinez, University of Oklahoma  SR
   Adam McGinnis, Western Illinois University SR
   Dominic Miroglio, University of San Francisco JR
   Joey Morgan, University of Washington JR
   Daulton Varsho, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee JR
   Travis Watkins, East Carolina University SR
   Matt Whatley, Oral Roberts University  JR
   Hunter Wood, Western Kentucky University SR

Catchers on the watch list were nominated by their schools. Statistics to compare them were pulled on May 9, 2017. One key criteria in determining the semifinalists is that they must be the starting catcher for their team in 70% of the games. This year there were several offensively strong nominees that did not meet the criteria to move forward in the selection process.

Ballots will be sent to the national voting panel at the end of May for a vote to determine the three finalists. The finalists will be announced June 5, 2017. A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and the winner will be announced at the 20th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on June 29, 2017.

BaseballSavings Johnny Bench Award Page



2017 Johnny Bench Award presented by BaseballSavings.com Watch List (updated 5/4/17)

Riley Adams  JR University of San Diego
Hunter Allen  JR Alabama State University
Bryndan Arredondo  SR Lamar University
David Banuelos JR  Long Beach State University
Justin Bardwell  SO Fordham University
Jared Barnes  JR University of South Alabama
Joey Bart  SO Georgia Tech
Chris Bec  JR University of Maine
Kyle Bergeron  FR University of Incarnate Word
Dominic Bifano  SR Indiana State University
Ellis Bitar  JR Cornell University
Brett Bond  JR University of Missouri
Ben Breazeale  SR Wake Forest University
Kyle Brennan  SR University of Buffalo
Matt Byars  SR Michigan State University
Micahel Cantu  JR University of Texas
Phil Capra  SO Wagner College
Zach Cerbo  SR Arizona State University
Brandon Chapman  JR George Washington University
Robbie Coman  SR University of Virginia
Brady Cox  SR University of Texas, Arlington
Chris Cullen  SO University of South Carolina
Michael Curry  SO University of Georgia
Nick Dalesandro  SO Purdue University
Tim DalPorto  JR Kent State University
Jason Delay  SR Vanderbilt University
Brent Diaz  JR Louisiana Tech University
Ignacio Diaz  SR University of Californa, Davis
Dominic DiCaprio  SO Rice University
Troy Dixon  SR St. John's University
Alex Dunlap  SR Stanford University
Josh Ellis  SR Harvard University
Michael Emodi  SO Creighton University
Hunter Fain  SO Morehead State University
Nick Feight  JR UNC Wilmington
Justin Felix  JR Arkansas State University
Ryan Fineman  SO Indiana University
Colby Fitch  JR University of Louisville
Joe Freiday, Jr.  JR Virginia Tech
Ivan Gonzalez  SO West Virginia University
Tim Graul  SR University of Pennsylvania
Dempsey Grover  JR UC Santa Barbara
Austin Hale  JR Stetson University
Brett Helmbrecht  JR Coppin State University
Chris Hudgins  JR Cal State Fullerton
Nick Hutchins  JR Southern Illinois University
Brandon Johnson  JR University of Richmond
Cooper Johnson  FR University of Mississippi
Clark Kahawaii  SR Stephen F. Austin University
Scott Kapers  SO Valparaiso University
Cameron Knight  SR University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Grant Koch  SO University of Arkansas
Justin Kunz  SO Gardner-Webb University
Jake Kusz  SR UNC Greensboro
Shea Langeliers  FR Baylor University
Tyler Lawrence  SR Murray State University
Brian Lees  SR Southeast Missouri State
Spencer Levine  JR Florida Gulf Coast
Ryan Lidge  SR University of Notre Dame
Lee Lipinski  SR Rider University
Blake Logan  SR Auburn University
Charlie Madden  SR Mercer University
Peyton Maddox  JR Virginia Military Institute
Phil Madonna  JR Siena College
Zeth Malcom  FR Alabama A&M University
Renae Martinez  SR University of Oklahoma
Adam McGinnis  SR Western Illinois University
Nick Meyer  SO Cal Poly
Zach Minnick  SO Campbell University
Dominic Miroglio  JR University of San Francisco
Joey Morgan  JR University of Washington
James Morisano  JR Saint Louis Uniiversity
Tyler Nelin  JR George Mason University
Adan Ordonez  JR North Carolina A&T University
Erik Ostberg  JR University of Hartford
Hagen Owenby  JR East Tennessee State University
Michael Papierski  JR Louisiana State University
Clay Payne  SR Belmont University
Manny Pazos  SR University of Pittsburg
Fabian Pena  SO Manhattan College
Chris Proctor  SO Duke University
Kevin Radziewicz  JR Fairfield University
Cal Raleigh  SO Florida State University
Kekai Rios  SO University of Hawaii
Cody Roberts  SO University of North Carolina
Robie Rojas  SR Sam Houston State University
Josh Rolette  SO Kansas State University
Ereven Roper  SR College of Charleston
Hayden Senger  SO Miami University
Jake Sidwell  SR Davidson College
Evan Skoug  JR Texas Christian University
Ryan Sloniger  SO Penn State
Chase Smartt  SO Troy University
Nate Soria  JR Xavier University
Deon Stafford Jr.  JR Saint Joseph's University
Logan Starnes  SR Eastern Kentucky University
Zac Susi  SO University of Connecticut
Tim Susnara  JR University of Oregon
Babe Thomas  SR Winthrop University
Joey Thomas  JR University of Cincinnati
Nick Tierno  SR University of Delaware
Zach Tondi  JR James Madison University
Gunnar Troutwine  JR Wichita State University
Alex Tucker  SR Nicholls State University
Daulton Varsho  JR University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Carson Waln  SR Wofford College
Travis Watkins  SR East Carolina University
Brock Weimer  SO Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Harrison Wenson  SR University of Michigan
Matt Whatley  JR Oral Roberts University
Jesse Wilkening  SO University of Nebraska
Chris Williams  JR Clemson University
Garrett Wolforth  SO Dallas Baptist University
Connor Wong  JR University of Houston
Hunter Wood  SR Western Kentucky University




VisitWichitasmall iba horizontal 4c BBS-Stack-RGB5 benchwebsite parkcity Hartman Arena Logo